Frequently Asked Questions

Read frequently asked questions about medicating with cannabis products. We are happy to help answer any of your other questions about Colorado State Cannabis Laws, consumption, and the differences in strains.
FAQ last updated: November 19, 2014

Buying Cannabis (5)

Basically, you walk into a licensed store, show your ID and make your purchase. It’s a lot like a liquor store.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

People with a Colorado ID can buy up to an ounce of marijuana in a single transaction. People with an out-of-state ID can buy up to a quarter ounce per transaction.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

Yes. The only cap on how much you can buy is the legal possession limit: No one who is not a medical-marijuana patient can possess more than an ounce of marijuana at a time. But that’s up to the customer to abide by.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

You must be 21 and older to buy, possess or use retail marijuana. It is illegal to give or sell retail marijuana to minors.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

Penalties range from a fine to a possible jail or prison sentence. Colorado State Statutes and Denver Revised Municipal Code spell out the specific penalties for various violations.

Schools, universities, and employers are allowed to put in place their own disciplinary actions for marijuana-related infractions.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

Consuming Cannabis (8)

Yes, you should come to a stop and pull out of the way of other skiers before medicating. Just kidding, it is actually illegal to use cannabis products in Colorado National Parks. Please refer to our Colorado Medication Guide.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

No. On-site consumption is prohibited at marijuana shops. You have to take your leaves (or buds) and leave.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

Absolutely not. Public consumption is banned, banned, banned and probably prompts more anxiety from public officials than just about any other topic.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

You must be 21 and older to buy, possess or use retail marijuana. It is illegal to give or sell retail marijuana to minors.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

Penalties range from a fine to a possible jail or prison sentence. Colorado State Statutes and Denver Revised Municipal Code spell out the specific penalties for various violations.

Schools, universities, and employers are allowed to put in place their own disciplinary actions for marijuana-related infractions.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

No. Possession laws are the same for all retail marijuana types, and public consumption is always illegal, regardless of form.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

Yes. It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana and it can result in a DUI, just like alcohol. Anyone with 5 nanograms or more of THC per milliliter in whole blood while driving can be arrested for DUI. The consequences of DUI is dependent on the driver but they can include fines, jail time, and a revoked license.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

It is up to the discretion of the hotel if it allows marijuana smoke to be consumed in their smoking rooms (the Colorado Clean Indoor Air Act limits all smoking to at most 25 percent of rooms). You should ask the hotel if they allow it.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

Possession of Cannabis (7)

Yes. National parks, national forests, national monuments: All off-limits. Possession is punishable by up to six months in jail and a $5,000 fine.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

No. Taking marijuana out-of-state is totally illegal, even if you’re traveling to another legal-marijuana state.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

Yes, as long as you are transporting it and not consuming it. Driving stoned is absolutely against the law.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

The feds basically have 8 areas of concern about cannabis consumption:

• Preventing marijuana distribution to minors;

• Preventing money from sales from going to criminal groups;

• Preventing the diversion of marijuana from states where it is legal to states where it is illegal;

• Preventing criminal groups from using state laws as cover for trafficking of other illegal drugs;

• Preventing violence and the use of illegal firearms;

• Preventing drugged driving and marijuana-related public health problems;

• Preventing the growing of marijuana on public lands;

• Preventing marijuana possession or use on federal property.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

You must be 21 and older to buy, possess or use retail marijuana. It is illegal to give or sell retail marijuana to minors.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

Penalties range from a fine to a possible jail or prison sentence. Colorado State Statutes and Denver Revised Municipal Code spell out the specific penalties for various violations.

Schools, universities, and employers are allowed to put in place their own disciplinary actions for marijuana-related infractions.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

No. Possession laws are the same for all retail marijuana types, and public consumption is always illegal, regardless of form.

0 Comments - Leave a Comment

 

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares
Share This